Local Towns & Municipalities

​​Richmond County Board of County Commissioners

Marian Savage, Clerk to the Board of County Commissioners

125 South Hancock Street Rockingham, N.C.  28379

Phone: (910) 997-8213 Fax: (910) 997-8208

Email: Marian.savage@richmondnc.com

County Commission meets at 5:30 PM on the first Monday of each month.

Commissioners: Don Bryant; Jimmy Capps; John Garner, Vice Chairman; Herb Long; Ben Moss; Kenneth Robinette, Chairman; Thad Ussery

County Manager:  Rick Sago

Sheriff:  James Clemmons

Clerk of Superior Court: Vickie Daniel

Register of Deeds: Linda Douglas

Town of Dobbins Heights

Dobbins Heights is a tiny town located in Richmond County. With a population of 855 people and just one neighborhood, Dobbins Heights is the 418th largest community in North Carolina.  The population was 866 at the 2010 census.  Unlike some towns where white-collar or blue-collar occupations dominate the local economy, Dobbins Heights is neither predominantly one nor the other. Instead, it has a mixed workforce of both white- and blue-collar jobs. Overall, Dobbins Heights is a town of service providers, transportation and shipping workers and professionals. There are especially a lot of people living in Dobbins Heights who work in law enforcement and fire fighting (13.29%), healthcare support services (12.03%) and maintenance occupations (11.39%).  Also of interest is that Dobbins Heights has more people living here who work in computers and math than 95% of the places in the US.

Dobbins Heights Town Council meets at 7 PM on the second Thursday of each month.

Mayor: Antonio Pedro Blue

Town Council: Angeline Kendall David; Mary Ann Gibson; Tyre' Holloway; Gracie C. Jackson

Town of Ellerbe

We are a small, progressive community located in the scenic Sandhills region of central North Carolina.  Our government, businesses and citizens are partners in building a future that retains our small town character and agricultural roots.  Once known as a peach center, it now features truck farming, tobacco farms, and poultry and swine farms in the surrounding area. Downtown has antique stores, a general merchandise store, a hardware; beauty salons, funeral homes, a realty/forestry office, a medical clinic, banks, churches, grocery stores, a feed, seed, and fertilizer store, a small-engine repair shop, garages, service stations, a post office, a drugstore, an ice cream stand, a hosiery mill, a recycling center, and three restaurants. A restaurant/inn is located just 1/2 mile north of the city limits. The town has a multi-cultural population. The 2000 census reported 1,021 residents.

Town of Ellerbe

108 W Page St.

Ellerbe, N.C.  28388

Phone: (910) 652-6251

Ellerbe Town Council meets at 7:30 PM on the First Monday of each month.

Mayor:  Lee Berry

Town Council:  Corey Brewington; Buddy Cooper; Jean Fletcher; Archie Robinson; John Sears, Jr

City of Hamlet

 A few homes scattered among the pine trees on the banks of a clear pure stream called Marks Creek was called Sandhills. Nestled deep in the North Carolina Sandhills, Hamlet was founded in the late 1800's when an Englishman named John Shortridge established a woolen and saw mill along Marks Creek.

201 W. Main Street

Hamlet, N.C.  28345

Phone: (910) 582-2651

Hamlet City Council meets at 7:00 PM on the second Tuesday of each month

Mayor:  Bill Bayless

​City Council:  Jonathan M. Buie; Tony Clewis; Eddie Martin; Jesse McQueen; Pat Preslar

City Manager:  Marcus Abernathy

Town of Hoffman

Hoffman is a town in Richmond County, North Carolina, United States. The population was 588 at the 2010 census. It was named for a family of settlers.

Hoffman City Council meets at 7:30 PM on the first Monday of each month.

Mayor: Tommy Hart

Town Council: Ricarrdo Anderson; Althea Sloan Cobb; Rory Kevin Jones; Daniel Kelly; Cynthia Northcutt

Town of Norman

Norman is a town in Richmond County, North Carolina, United States. The population was 138 at the 2010 census.

Norman Town Council meets at 7:00 PM on the second Tuesday of each month.

Mayor: Kenneth Broadway

Town Council: Stephen Cranford; Tonia Collins; Cynthia Ingram

City of Rockingham

Rockingham is the county seat of Richmond County. It was on April 19, 1774, that a county-seat was authorized, to be called Rockingham. April 19 may be considered as the birth date for Rockingham.

On April 1, 1785, the three duly appointed Commissioners – General H. W. Harrington, John Cole Sr., and Robert Webb, met and bought 18 acres of land from John James, Sr. for about $30, and 32 acres from John Cole for $50. This land was situated on the road that ran from the Mountains to Cross Creek (now Fayetteville). The land was bounded by Falling Creek on the south, and Hitchcock Creek on the North and West – a constricted area.

The City of Rockingham was named for the Marquis of Rockingham, Charles Watson Wentonworth, a strong friend of the Colonies, who was Prime Minister in 1765. He was in bitter opposition to Lord North and the policy that lost America. He again became a Prime Minister in 1782, dying that year at the age of 52.514 Rockingham Road

Rockingham, N.C.  28379

Phone: (910) 997-5546

Fax: (910) 997-6617

Email: info@gorockingham.com

Rockingham City Council meets at 7:30 PM on the second Tuesday of each month.

Mayor:  Steve Morris

City Council:  Travis Billingsley; C. Bennett Deane, III; John P. Hutchinson; Denise A. Sullivan; Gene Willard

City Manager: Monty Crump